Ditto Press: Messing with the Image via Shrinkart…

This is a totally awesome process which has made me really happy. I made these at 11pm last night and it got me so excited I couldn’t sleep.

Now I just need to figure out how to turn it into something Risographically viable…

I have used inkjet printable Shrinkart paper – A type of plastic which first distorts and then shrinks with heat, thereby enhancing the tones of the image on the page… Using a special heat gun (like an über-hot hairdryer) I applied heat unevenly to the image, so that it shrank in different areas at different times. With a sheet as large as this (about 20cm x 20cm) it should really be done in the oven. By doing it like this, the final product (last picture) isn’t completely flat. I have my lovely daughter and her mum to thank for introducing me to Shrinkart because it’s bloody cool stuff…

Leave a Reply

